Jamis Dragon '96- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2007

Jamis Dragon '96

This is my latest project, a Jamis Dragon '96.

The parts:

Fork: Rond WP3 / ridged
    Wheels: Mavic 117 XT / M737 hubs
    Tires: IRC Piranha
    Crank: XT M737
    Brakes: XT M739 V-brake
    Rear mech: XT 739
    Sadle: SDG
    Stem: Syncros (will be coated black)
    Handlebars: Jamis
    Grips: Onza (red)
    Barends: Onza

I'm not sure wich fork to choose, Rond WP for a little bounch or a rigid for less weight:

Which one do you like more?

Relax. I'm a pro.
    Feb 2004
    Rigid looks better, but it was probably designed for a suspension fork.
    Instagram: @antoine1000
    http://tfwo.tumblr.com

skeet, skeet, skeet
    not quite VRC, but those Dragons are really nice bikes.
    Men are more ready to repay an injury than a benefit
    because gratitude is a burden and revenge a pleasure.
    Tacitus

mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Vlad
    Rigid looks better, but it was probably designed for a suspension fork.
    Originaly it had a Judy XC, this red fork in the pic is from the same period and a Dutch brand that Magura took over a year later. I'l try the rigid first, if it rides o.k. I'l leave it like that.

Quote Originally Posted by Deuce Bigelow
    not quite VRC, but those Dragons are really nice bikes..
    Why not VRC?

Relax. I'm a pro.
    Feb 2004
    It qualifies as retro and classic in my book.

How big are the tires on that bike? They look huge.
    Instagram: @antoine1000
    http://tfwo.tumblr.com

mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    They are 2.2" , but are higher then other 2.2's I ever had.
    As this is going to be my main rider and will be rigid, I can use some comfort.

Humanoid Lobster
    I like it too. Jamis has been consistently putting out nice bikes for a long time. Really nice looking steel frame on that one!

What is the fork you are using? Looks like the fork that came on some of the higher end Giants. I'm not familiar with Rond.