Father and Son ride is now the Son and Father ride.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Father and Son ride is now the Son and Father ride.

In the mid 90's while I was in college I got my dad into mountain biking. He absolutely loved it and it was something we would do together when I had free time from school. I gave him my old bike when I built my current bike. He eventually bough his own bike and I gave him my old Vector 2 and put some brake boosters and Kool Stops on his bike to really give him some stopping power. I graduated in the late 90's and by the early 2000's never had much time to ride any more. My bike sat unused in my garage for years. My dad continued to ride until a bad back caused him to give it up entirely. His bike too sat unused in his garage. He tried to give it away but the seat post was corrosion welded to the frame.

Eventually I had a son and now that he's turned 10 he's really gotten into Biking the past few months. He has a rigid 24" Diamondback Hybrid bike he's been riding for the last couple of years I outfitted with LX rapid Fire plus shifting and put a old triple crank on the front to give him lower gearing. He's been dying for a new "real mountain bike" with real suspension. He's about an inch short from really fitting on the smallest sized 27.5" bikes so I told him he needs to just keep on the 24" until he gets big enough we can get him on a 27.5".