GoPro: Mountain Biking in Trails- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2014

GoPro: Mountain Biking in Trails

I just got the gopro so this is my first video of biking. I'd appreciate any advice on future videos.

2006 Yeti AS-X
    I have been using the GoPro since 2010 and using Point and Shoot for a year prior to getting a GoPro.

I will preface this statement with something that will hopefully be more directed at those who would start poking at your video and that is folks this is this guys first video using a GoPro - it isn't going to be a masterpiece and I am sure the OP knows this and is asking for constructive assistance to improving his/her skills at videographing his riding experience.

Ok. I will try to give you my advice from my own experience.

Mounting

There are many ways to mount your GoPro. In my opinion, the handlebar mount is the not the ideal mount for a mountain bike video for 2 reasons: 1) Tends to be too shaky and 2) the video constantly moves left and right as the handlebar turns.

A chesty mount would be more ideal for that POV than a handlebar mount would be as your chest tends to stay put so gives the viewer a more stable view of the trail. Get a chesty mount, mount the GoPro upside down on the mount and position it at a 45 degree angle up, and flip the video in the GoPro or in the editor.

Another note for mounts is that viewers tend to like multiple views which you only having one GoPro (I presume) means making multiple runs on the same trail with the GoPro mounted on different places.

Put mounts on the bike (bottom tube, behind seatpost, other places you can find to slap the camera on) - be creative.

Video length and what to include

Your video was 6:07 which is at the upper end where most good mountain bike videos are done. The ideal length for a mountain bike video would be between 3 - 5 minutes with exceptions being for very popular trails or rides with tons of interesting features.