Going to Vancouver BC in late Febuary...should I bring my bike (I'd get in 1-2 rides)- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2014

Going to Vancouver BC in late Febuary...should I bring my bike (I'd get in 1-2 rides)

I'm driving to Vancouver BC in late February for a non-bike related family trip. I'm just wondering if I should bring my bike...I'd likely only get to ride once or maybe twice and I'd need to bring all my winter riding gear and might put a hinder on flexibility because I won't leave my bike in the car for more than a few moments (grew up in LA). I like all-mountain gnar chunk by California standards but I'm no pro and have a bit of an irrational fear of riding skinnys...not sure what trails would be ridable in Feb and how far of a drive they would be from downtown Vancouver. If you have the knowledge I'd love some advice. If there's a badass trail that would be fantastic in winter I need to know...might not be up that way again for a good while.

Thanks!!

mtbr member
    Really snowy in Vancouver (both vancouvers actually) at present. Feb is still well in the future. Personally, I would bring it anyway and see what happens.

mtbr member
    You're rolling the dice ask closer to your trip. Currently lots of snow on Vancouver trails. But things could change and there's some great riding 20 minute drive from downtown

ups and downs
    The snow is vanishing quickly with the atmospheric river we're getting hit with right now, but it's likely only going to be the lower trails (under 500-600m elevation) that are likely going to be clear, and they will almost certainly going to be very wet so make sure your gummiest tires are on the bike. Lower Mt. Seymour and Fromme trails will be your best bet for North Vancouver.