St. George rideable trails with rain- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

St. George rideable trails with rain

We will be heading to St. George for a biking trip next weekend. Pulling in on Thursday, March 1st and leaving Sunday.

The forecast looks like rain Friday night and Saturday morning.

On our to-do list:
    Zen
    Rim trails
    Precipice, sidewinder, barrel roll, suicidal tendencies
    JEM
    Gooseberry Mesa Big Loop
    Hurricane Rim Loop
    Church Rocks on the way out of town on Sunday

Any suggestions on which trails are better if there is a bit of precipitation?
    It seems Zen and Santa Clara trails were pretty rocky and would likely ride well if rain, no?

Thanks in advance
    BoiseBoy

mtbr member
    Feb 2013
    I was in St George last week, rode pretty much everything on your list except Precipice/Suicidal. It did not rain AT ALL while we were there (4 days) but had somewhat in the week before (see the "It rained..." discussion).

I have limited experience but I can tell you that you really do not want to be on these trails while even close to wet. Trails like Bearclaw and JEM were not really dry enough even after several days without rain. The dirt is different there and the desert does NOT suck up the moisture like in Idaho (which I assume is where you are). The mud is slick and sticky and makes riding miserable, even if you are not destroying the trail. Of course the rocks are fine but all the trails will have at least some dirt.

If it is actually raining I honestly would go someplace else. Vegas?

trail gnome
    General advice is that Church rocks rides well in the wet.

Gooseberry, Guacamole, & Zen are mostly rock and may be ok. If the access road to Guacamole is wet, you may have trouble getting to the TH though.

Stay away from Bearclaw Poppy and JEM when wet. You'll damage the trails and the mud will stick to you like glue.