• 01-21-2009
    NAUBoone
    Riding and living in SLC. Recommendations???
    Hey everybody, I am in my last year of nursing school here in AZ and in a year's time I will be relocating to whichever city/hospital I decide on. I am looking very seriously at SLC and more specifically working at University of Utah's University Hospital (excellent new grad programs). I am interested in the area for specific job opportunities, all the amenities of a major city, and the reputation for epic mt biking, hiking, and snowsports.
    What I am really interested in are the logistics of living in the area. Is north-eastern SLC a nice area to try and live? The main aspects that I give weight to are proximity to the hospital, proximity and ease of access to awesome riding (and the mountains during the winter), and overall feel and atmosphere of the "neighborhood". So considering those things, what are the local's thoughts on the best areas to consider?

FYI I'm a young 20-something white male, so don't want to live in suburbia with a bunch of families.
    What's the single 20-something outdoorsy female scene like?

Any input is much appreciated.
  • 01-21-2009
    skyhogg
    Good:

SLC is among the best places to live if you're into anything outdoors, including riding. There is an amazing variety of riding (including several great urban rides) within 20-30 minutes of the city. You also have arguably the best skiing in the U.S and great hiking opportunities. There are excellent restaurants here, a top symphony, ballet, and opera company. There are great alternative options for theaters and a good music scene (you may have to check out the underground scene a bit). All in all it's a nice place to live.

Bad: