to rent or to ship bike to Moab - worth the hassle?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2010

to rent or to ship bike to Moab - worth the hassle?

Folks:

I'm planning my first Moab MTB adventure this fall. I am by no means an expert biker and will probably not ride trails beyond intermediate level, but I've grown quite used to my own setup.

Just a poll on how many of you would rather go through the hassle and expense of shipping your machines out there (mine is hardtail) vs renting one locally (probably fs). Thanks for your feedback or tips.!

alien exchange student

My two cents

Howdy, here are a couple of perspectives.

Financially, shipping your bike is going to cost at least $60 each way (and possibly more). A rental is going to run around $40+ per day. There may be weekly rates available at some shops but even without that, your breakeven is 3 days of riding. That doesn't include the hassle of boxing/reboxing your bike or the fact that you might be more comfortable on the Moab terrain with a FS rig.

If you have ever wanted to try a specific bike, now is your chance. If you check with the shops (there are 5), you should be able to find someone who rents a bike you've wanted to give a spin. It really is a good way to check out a bike in some terrain that really lets them shine (or not).

How unique is "your own setup"? I have been riding in Moab for years and it has honestly changed the way I set up a bike. I now worry less about weight, ride bigger tires, a more upright position (with shorter stem) and wider bars. Even on East Coast dirt/rock trails I find this set up makes me a more confident rider. It does suck getting the bars stuck between trees though - it honestly has happened more than once. I swore (10 years ago) that I'd never buy a full suspension bike. Then I rode one that was really well designed and manufactured.