Please help me understand "trail maintenance"- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2007

Please help me understand "trail maintenance"

So, I've noticed that there has been a lot of "trail maintenance" over the last couple of years. Basically this entails taking out rocks, logs, or any obstacle on the trail. I really don't understand it, and I'm getting really frustrated with it. It seems to me (admittedly no expert) that removing those things leaves the trail more vulnerable to erosion and run off. I have lived in California and Arizona and ridden extensively in both states and have never seen the trails changing like they are here (I've been riding here for 20 yrs). East coast riders don't remove all the tree roots on the trails because they like the challenge. Az riders (beginners and experts) deal with extremely rocky fun trails.
    Rode the crest this weekend and puke hill is now a paved highway. I don't think we can even call it puke hill anymore. That cool little rocky climb half way down the crest. Gone. There are dozens of trails in No. Utah that have been "maintained." It's no surprise that riders are constantly making "illegal trails" to have some sort of a challenge. Sorry for the rant, but what is the issue here? Why all the "trail maintenance"?

Big Gulps, Alright!
    That's not trail maintenance, that's called trail sanitizing and I hate it as much as you. I doubt that any sort of cycling organization is promoting it - it's usually carried out by one or two individuals who don't have the skill to ride the stuff, so they make it into something they can manage.

Trail maintenance is a good thing when done properly. Trail sanitizing is a whole different beast.
    Axle Standards Explained

Founder at North Atlantic Dirt, riding & writing about trails in the northeast.

mtbr member
    Mar 2007