Moab - slickrock- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2005

Moab - slickrock

I'm headed to Moab in May - I'm an beginner to intermediate rider. Is the slickrock trail too hard for me to consider doing it?
    Also, can you recommend other trails in the Moab area that have large expanses of slickrock for one to play on?
    Last May I was there and rode up and back to Gemini bridges from below. That was a great ride, but I'd like more singletrack/slickrock.
    Thanks!

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    Slickrock will be fine - when in doubt hike a bike.

Rohloff
    I went to Moab a couple of years ago as a beginner/intermediate rider. Slick Rock was a little above my skill level. I'd like to try it now that I've had more experience. That said, Moab was great and you'll find lots to ride. I found lots of slick rock, but I never found quite the expanse of rock that you'll find at Slick Rock. Go talk to the guys in the bike shops. They were very helpful.

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    Try the Bar M trails north of town. Lots of easy to moderate slickrock.

mtbr member
    Jun 2005
    cool, thanks.
    Since Slickrock will probably be a shitshow, I'd rather find some "quieter" riding...any other areas to consider?

mtbr member

Slickrock

The Slickrock Trail was the first off-road ride that I ever did on my very first, fully-rigid, mountain bike. I had a BIG smile on my face the whole ride! As was already said above, if there's a section that's questionable (and there will be many), get off the bike and walk. Otherwise you'll do fine. Your bike-handling skills will amp-up an order of magnitude by the time you're done with the ride.