Moab and jeeps - ? for locals- Mtbr.com
    occasionally good

Moab and jeeps - ? for locals

Howdy -

I've been riding in Moab 2-3 times/year since about 1990 - I obviously love the place. However, in recent years it seems that a lot of the riding is showing increasing damage from jeepers - ledges being dug out, little ledgy areas broken into rubble, lots of drive-arounds, etc. I recently visited and rode Flat Pass, among other routes - the damage was enough to make me really sad. And enough to make me think I don't need to do that ride any more - formerly one of my favorites.

Is this just me being oversensitive, or are you guys seeing the same thing? If so, what if anything is being done about it? I understand that many of the Moab classic rides are, in fact, jeep trails - they were there first. And I understand that the jeepers bring serious cash to the community.

But, to me anyway, it seems like the damage is increasing at an ever-quickening pace. And I'm wondering if, at some point, some of the riding there is just going to be chalked up as sacrificed to the jeeps, or if some of the locals are working on things we as visitors can support to try and get a handle on the problem.

TIA for any insights you can share.

MG
    Don't ask me a question unless you really want to hear what I think.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Mountaingirl1961
    Is this just me being oversensitive?
    Yep it is!

Sorry I'm not trying to be a dick I just think that Moab is one of those places that people need to realize will always be multiple use. Like you said a lot of the great Moab trails started as either Jeep or ATV/Motorcycle trails and it isn't fair to try to get them kicked off of them just because some may feel that they are damaging the area too much.