Lodging recommendations - Park City- Mtbr.com
    Back of the pack fat guy
    Jan 2004

Lodging recommendations - Park City

My wife and I are heading to PC in June for a long weekend. We've never been there, so we're looking for some recommendations on lodging. I'll probably ride at least a couple of times (shorter rides) and she *says* she wants to ride too. I don't care if we have to drive to a trailhead (again, never been to PC, so I have zero local trail knowledge.) She's looking for some place where we can walk to things like restaurants. Sounds like Old Town is where we want to be? Any recommendations?

As for rides, I'm guessing it will be easy enough to find a shop and a map and recommendations when I get there. I'm more of the XC or "trail" rider (whatever that means - I like fast and swoopy but not "gnar") and don't mind climbing. She's a solid intermediate who gets pretty unhappy with a lot of climbing.

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    Earthpig, depending on what kind of spring we have here many trails will only just be opening then but here's a link to some good trail writeups for you:
    Park City Area Bike Trails

Back of the pack fat guy
    Jan 2004
    That was sort of my suspicion - same way up here at Sun Valley. Sometimes only the lower elevation trails are rideable in early to mid-June.

mtbr member
    The Glenwild/Flying Dog/Bob's Basin area would seem to fit most of what you are looking for both for, with trails for both you and your wife as well as some for both.
    And they are much more likely to be fully open and good to go earlier than the main PC trails.
    The area isn't so close to the main PC/Old Town area though.
    There are lodging options out in the area though, and lots of shops and restaurants within close walking distance there.

Frame Building Moderator