Hiking Trails within an hour of Salt Lake City- Mtbr.com

May 2009

Hiking Trails within an hour of Salt Lake City

I am planning to take a 3 day trip to SLC in about a month. I am headed out there by myself to just unwind. I plan to see a few things in the city (I was an architecture student), the salt flats, salt lake, lake utah, and do a little hiking.

I have found many good tips for good trails to hike- but are there any that are somewhat popular? I will be going it alone and I would like to hope someone would come along if I broke an ankle or something. I'm not planning to do any long or hard loops- just a few different 3-4 mile loops or something of the sort. Something I can do in 3 hours or so. I am all for not seeing a single person while I am out, but I am somewhat concerned about safety. I am in good shape- I've just never been out west before, aside from Vegas and a few of the short 1-2 mile hikes outside of the city. Do I have an reason to worry about hiking alone on these easier trails? I ride my mtn bike alone all the time, but around here we don't have mountains or any wildlife aside from deer.

Apr 2007
    There are a TON of trails right within Salt Lake City. In a month's time, all the trails should have a good amount of traffic. Head over to Little or Big Cottonwood Canyons. I liked doing Doughnut Falls, Secrit Lake, and few others that I can't remember. If you just head up the canyon, you will see the trails marked right on there. Also, Millcreek Canyon is very close, too. Lots of trails up there (I believe Pipeline is the most popular).

There are too many to choose from. Just pick one and go. Most of the trails are family friendly, which means fairly easy to do, so don't worry about broken ankles and being stranded for days on out.

Has skills-will travel
    Jun 2008
    Go to Summitpost.org for some great hikes.

May 2009