Gooseberry 8/10/07-8/13/07- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2005

Gooseberry 8/10/07-8/13/07

Hey all. So I plan on going out this later this week to sample some of these great riding I hear so much about in Gooseberry. I will be driving from San Diego Thurs night and leaving Sunday or Monday. This is my first time in this area, and will be driving out solo. My objectives are:

1) Ride! Looking for some 3hr rides in the morning over the course of the 3 days. Hopefully the weather wont be to too cookin'! Also I will be bringing my rigid 29er, so some nice singletrack would be nice...not much hucking though!

2) Fly fishing and some hiking in the later afternoon. I read the fishing is descent on Virgin River in, or near Zion...im not sure what its like this time of the year. If the fishing is a bust, than hike and explore around Zion.

Any sugestions or tips on doing longer mtn rides, with lower potential for getting lost? I will have maps, but no GPS. Any thoughts of fishing locations (lakes/rivers) in the Zion area?? I'll continue to search this board, as well as other sites this week, but would love to get some feedback!! Anyways, this little mini trip should give me the break from racing, my job, and a change of scenery from the Socal trails that I need.

JMH
    Sugary Exoskeleton
    You won't need anything more than a trailmap for Gooseberry. The trails are well-marked and constrained by the size/shape of the mesa. The same goes for Hurricane Rim/Goulds/JEM (well marked) if you decide to do that ride. Both GM and the big Hurricane Loop would be nice long rides.

Hopefully someone with more St. George-area experience will post to give you a good idea of a third ride. I have been to the Virgin area several times, but have never managed to make it West of Hurricane since there is so much to do.

The road up to Kolob Reservoir is a fantastic drive, but I am unsure of the fishing up there. Would be worth driving up regardless, there are some great hiking trails.