Full Suspension vs. Plus Bike HT?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2016

Full Suspension vs. Plus Bike HT?

I'm getting a bike for the first time in many years. I'm a complete novice but athletic and want to explore the trails and do some fun trips like Thunder Mountain (near Bryce) that are easy access for us Utahns.

I've been looking at plus pike hard tails like the Trek Roscoe 8, 2018 Stache 5 as well as used full suspension 29ers and 27.5.

I am lost. I like the idea of plus bikes and simplicity of the hard tail but every biker I talk to here is on full suspension and try to steer me away from a HT.

I'm I wasting my money on a HT? Is it inevitable that I'll regret it and want a FS out here?

mtbr member
    Man, tough to say, as there's a lot of personal preference. I don't think a plus hardtail is a waste of money, though I don't think it's a good solution for me personally. I think they make a lot of sense, generally. As someone getting into the sport, I think you could have a lot of fun with an entry level plus hardtail and not drop a lot of $$.

mtbr member
    I have both, and wouldn't want to be without either one! Right now, I'm riding my Krampus more though.

mtbr member
    May 2010
    Demo if you can. I tried replacing my full sus with a hardtail plus and did not like it. The worst part were the long flat slogs with roots and rocks where you could sit and spin on a full sus, but the hard tail plus was just rough. Going down, surprisingly, was mostly fine, but going up was hard sometimes as I tended to lose traction in technical stuff.

But I have a younger cousin with a hardtail plus and he likes it a lot. So it really is personal preference.

mtbr member
    Sep 2017