Fatties in Ogden- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Fatties in Ogden

I want to start off by apologizing. The Utah page isn't super active, but the majority of the traffic is from outsiders asking about trail conditions and recommendations. I can see how that can be annoying to all you locals that continue to answer the same questions time and time again. Props for coming back and actually replying to threads just like the one I've started here LOL. I can tell how much the trails in this region mean to you. I'm sure the amount of traffic grows each year and that can get depressing as well. So secondly, I want to apologize because my family and I are moving out there and we plan to enjoy your amazing trails too! I wanted to put this first so you guys know I'm self-aware and not a complete noob, just a noob to riding in UT.

Now to my point, I currently live/ride in Indiana which is probably polar opposite of what is out there. I know I'm best off saving my questions about trails, bikes, and gear till I get out there but I'm really stocked and have some time on my hands. I'm liquidation a lot of my bike stuff for the move and bringing one bike and it's a Salsa Beargrease. I'll be arriving in January so I figured I'll focus on winter riding and address the other seasons once I'm there.

For trail riding, do you guys recommend studded tires? Here they are essential because our temps fluctuate so much that most of the snow melts and refreezes every day. I know some groomed trails don't allow anything smaller then 3.8, but would an aggressive plus tire be ok for a light rider(my wife)? I'm trying to cut down on wheelsets and tire's because I'm just not going to have the room.

If you have any advice to keep me out of trouble there, I'd love to hear it. Thanks for having me and can't wait to meet some of you on the trail!

Your Best Friend