mtbr member
    Nov 2005

Surly Lowside as an urban/dj/park bike ?

Seriously thinking about a Lowside for an unban/dj/park bike, anyone here have any experience with one? ridden one? its basically the bastard child spooky darkside and a bmx bike ..isnt it?

Wanna ride bikes?
    No replies to this yet? I would think it would work quite well, but I have no experience with DJ bikes. I'm currently in the market for my first one for urban trials skills practice along with pump track and some actual dirt jumping.

Curious to hear what others think of the Surly. I like that it's available in XL. The other bike I'm considering is the Transition PBJ as it's the biggest/longest reach I can find.
    Rigid SS 29er
    SS 29+
    Fat Lefty
    SS cyclocross
    Full Sus 29er (Yuck)

Stop asking how much it weighs and just go ride it.

mtbr member
    Mar 2018
    I hadn't seen the Surly Lowside before it is an interesting looking bike. Another bike that would be similar would be the NS Bikes Surge Evo. To me plus size sizes seem like a really weird choice for a bike to that kind of stuff on.

NS Bikes has some other cool bikes that might fit your wants as well.

TBH I would go with a BMX. Much cheaper, strong, easier to toss around. I ride a 21" top tube and I am 6'2". I do want to try a DJ bike at some point though.

mtbr member
    Nov 2005
    thanks, I already have a bmx bike, looking for something for the trails, mostly mtb style djs and urban cruising and hucking. Lurking on the Surly forums just seeing if anyone here had any experience with it. Thanks!

mtbr member
    Nov 2018