New to urban riding- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2007

New to urban riding

Hey guys I just recently started playing on ledges, stairs, etc around my campus and today I got a flat. I was jumping onto a bench and my rear tire hit it hard enough to give me a flat. For this kind of riding, what tire pressure should I be running?

Also, what is a good fork for this? I keep bottoming mine out on ~5 ft drops. I do a good bit of XC as well so hopefully it can be adjustable somehow.

How big of a difference will tires make? My Bontrager Earl 2.4's are big and I was wondering if a more street specific tire would help me any?

One more: Any tips on tire tap 360's? I can do a 180, land and ride away but would love to be able to land on my rear tire and keep going around.

Ok, one more: When you guys manual, do you keep a finger on the rear brake?

Any tips anywhere would be really appreciated. I am so glad I started riding!

corey

mtbr member
    Nice to hear another rider doing some street. I run my pressure at 65 and it holds up well to pinch flats. I run rigid forks and don't do drops. look for some gold labels, marz z1s or 4x. Kenda make some good tyres and I don't go wider than 2.1 in front.

3 tire taps I'd carve into it with a tad more whip than a 180. when landing I get squaty over the rear w/ arms locked and my head/shoulders looking into the spin. That'll get you carried the remaining 180 you need. When learning manuals you can feather the brake to get your front lower while you keep low and back over the rear tyre.

Only tip I got is keep riding and you'll progress. When working on a trick, commitment is key. Half cocked will get you hurt real quick.

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    brakeless
    i run 80 psi rigid but still do drops
    practice what serveem said sounds perfect

Rollin' twenties.
    Apr 2006
    i run 80 psi, i dont really enjoy big drops to flat, and i dont keep a finger on the brak during manuals.

Aug 2007