mtbr member
    Dec 2004

Will I feel much difference between a 170 and 175 mm Crankset

Recent events have me shopping for a new crankset. I have always ridden 175's but with the addition of new 5.5 rockers I have been having more pedal strikes than usual. I love the rockers except for this trait. Thought I might go 170mm on the new cranks to help alleviate this but have never ridden this size. What can I expect.

Thanks.

JMH
    Sugary Exoskeleton
    I have bikes with cranks as short as 165mm all the way up to 180mm. It doesn't bother me switching between them, the differences are marginal. You can spin a shorter crank more easily and you reduce pedal strikes, while longer crankarms are a bit more efficient for climbing.

You may not even feel a difference.

JMH

mtbr member
    Dec 2004
    Thanks JMH. I'm also a novice at this outboard bearing deal. Are they really that much stiffer that the traditional BB setup. Thinking of the new XT FC-M770's. They will be replacing the old XT 751's with spined BB (ES71).

mtbr member
    I really dont think you will notice a huge diff in rigidity, but you will find that they are more durable (properly setup of course).

M070R-M0U7H FR3NCHI3
    you WILL "feel" the difference. I run 170's on all my bikes because they have low BB's and I like the added clearance that they offer. I had to do some crank switching on some bikes recently and mounted some 175's on my HT and noticed it right away. I also feel I can corner a bit better with 170's - especially when the cranks are leveled to the ground...might have something to do with having my feet closer to the BB - who knows! All I know is that I like em'

But like JMH mentioned - after a few miles you don't notice it the length difference anymore.

mtbr member
    In my case, I feel 175 a little lethargic, while the 170 feels agressive.
    I used 175 before, and switched to 170.
    A week ago I tried a friend's bike with 175 crank arm length, and I felt the thing I said above