mtbr member
    Jul 2007

Road Bike shoe & pedal question

I recently got a new road bike and have been taking my Shimano XTR pedals off my mtn bike and riding my road bike with those pedals and my mtn shoes. I was trying to decide if it's worth getting a new set of road shoes and road specific pedals or if I should just get another pair of mtn XTR or XT pedals and use them on the road bike with my mtn shoes. I'm not sure how much of a difference it makes as I'm a newbie to the road biking world and was wondering if anyone could chime in.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    I just used my XC shoes and put some SPD pedals on my road bike when I had one. I am sure if you decide that road biking is for you, you will want to buy specific shoes, and pedals, but I would try the SPD route since it is easy.

Ryan.

Quote Originally Posted by Locomoto
    I recently got a new road bike and have been taking my Shimano XTR pedals off my mtn bike and riding my road bike with those pedals and my mtn shoes. I was trying to decide if it's worth getting a new set of road shoes and road specific pedals or if I should just get another pair of mtn XTR or XT pedals and use them on the road bike with my mtn shoes. I'm not sure how much of a difference it makes as I'm a newbie to the road biking world and was wondering if anyone could chime in.

mtbr member
    used to be that you could buy light weight one sided ultegra spd pedals...

mtbr member
    The thing that sucks about road shoes and pedals is that the shoes are worse than useless for walking in, and the pedals typically don't work at all with normal shoes (although most clipless MTB pedals don't either).

Road shoes and pedals won't really make you faster than a stiff-soled MTB shoe and pedals, so you have to decide what it's worth for a very incremental improvement, and having that roadie look.