mtbr member
    Sep 2008

RFX proto head tube

Greetings, I have been prompted by a good friend to lust after a new rfx, seeing his 2 and realizing it may be the most perfect bike ever with the new DW-link. so, i'm eagerly awaiting and saving, and enjoying the few teaser shots of this beast.
    And, I'm no engineer (but I did drop out of engineering school!) but I'm bothered by the tapered headtube.

It seems to me the benefits of tapered headtube are:
    1. Ability to weld on larger downtube = stronger, stiffer.
    2. Ability to better handle shock / fork forces = stronger.
    3. Can run a tapered fork with a tapered headset
    4. Can run a traditional 1 1/8" fork with an adapter/taper headset

Alas, it also seems that the fully oversized, vastly superior 1.5 head tube provides similar benefits:
    1. Ability to weld on larger downtube = stronger, stiffer
    2. Ability to weld on larger toptube = stronger, stiffer
    3. Ability to better handle / distribute suspension forces
    4. Can run a traditional 1 1/8" fork
    5. Can run a tapered 1.5-1.125" fork
    6. Can run a 1.5" fork
    7. Can do the above with a zero-stack headset.

So, with no engineering degree, but a strong desire to have the new bike compatible with the most number of forks, be as strong as possible, and be able to run zero-stack headset, it seems to me there's no reason not to use a 1.5" headtube.
    After all, you get the larger headtube, but you get it all around, and you get much more fork compatibility.

Of course, I suppose there is a good reason for running the tapered HT, but I think the 1.5" is a much better idea, and since this is the internet, and everyone's opinion is golden - I'm sharing mine. Happy flaming/riding/agreeing.
    Quote Originally Posted by sickspeed16
    Your not all mountain unless your runnin' crushed dew cans..
    '12 Scalpel 29er Carbon 1
    '13 SuperSix EVO Red Racing

mtbr member
    Apr 2004

weight