It's carbon dontcha know.

Easy maintenance of rear RP23 shock

I just changed the seals and fluid in my RP23 after ~18 months of use of my Sultan, I figured it was about time. The procedure was really easy, certainly easier than working on a fork by a large margin. You don't even have to remove the bushing to take off the air sleeve

I followed this video and referred to the manual when not sure.

http://video.mpora.com/watch/KRTj23Tn7/

http://www.foxracingshox.com/fox_tec...aintenance.htm

Certainly one of the easier bike maintenance tasks.

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    Thanks for the info, saved to favorite list, great reference. I'm always looking for good info on do it yourself bike maintenance.

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    Thanks for the links. You might already be aware, but I can't seem to get the first link to work for me. It's very possible that it's a problem on my end (I'm not tech savvy), but I thought you would like to know.

With that said, I performed the same maintenance on my shock and with similar results. It was easier then I ever thought it would be. Perhaps the hardest part was justifying the purchase of a strap-wrench, although it was quite cheap.

Expert Crasher
    Yes - pretty easy to do. I did this service this summer (minus seals since I swapped to an LV can).

It was also easy to drop it in a box addressed to that shop in Loveland....(rhymes with cush) and then get it back in the mail 5 days laters That was my "easiest" service yet.
    Happiness depends more on the inward disposition of mind than on outward circumstances. Benjamin Franklin

It's carbon dontcha know.
    Didn't need a strap-wrench, only tool I used to perform the service was a pick to remove the old seals.
    Quote Originally Posted by GreenLightGo
    It was also easy to drop it in a box addressed to that shop in Loveland....(rhymes with cush) and then get it back in the mail 5 days laters That was my "easiest" service yet.