2004 Burner and 2005 XTR cranks, spacer or no spacer?- Mtbr.com

Feb 2004

2004 Burner and 2005 XTR cranks, spacer or no spacer?

I am a little new at assembling a full bike from scratch.....Therefore, I am a little confused on the crankset/bb spacer issue. I have a 2004 Burner and am putting a 2005 XTR 180mm cranks on it using the XTR bb. Do I need spacers or not? I have two other Turners and have never had issues with chain suck so I do not really want the wider chainline to help free up a stuck chain. I want the most effecient chainline....Can someone simplify this issue for me? What does Turner reccomend (if they ever have)? Thanks for the help...

Greyeye

Bite Me.