Trail building alone... (cont.)- Mtbr.com

Oct 2007

Trail building alone... (cont.)

Ok so I'm the dude who is going forward with building the bike trail in between a state prison, a shooting range, a railroad and a river. After 3 days of working about 3-4 hours each time I have slowly started to make my way. I'm not good with judging distance but I've got a decent path/trail in the works. On day one I went out and walked all through the area envisioning a trail. I grabbed a 100 pack of orange flags and marked off about a mile of possible trail. Consider that the area is completely rough. No starter trail, nothing to work from. Day two I took a handsaw, a shovel, a metal rake and one of those swing things that cuts weeds and such. I dont have a Mcleod or good hoe or anything. So day two was all about cutting down the rough stuff. small trees in the way, thorn bushes, etc. Day three was all about raking up the stuff I cut and chopped as well as raking leaves from the trail. I also did some digging and moved some dirt to fill in some trouble spots. The first part of the trial is really zigzaggy and requires a lot of maneuvreing (sp?). I am a little worried about the creek and the river. They come to a point at the far end of this area and my flags lead all the way out to that point. I'm afraid that a lot of rain or melting snow would wipe out that part of the trail. I plan to add a few minor jumps (because I like small jumps) and I will be adding drops and plenty of log crossings. I'll wait to see the level of water this place takes before I start building things like bridges and such. After 3 days alone and sneaking... I'm exhausted. is it worth it? Can I ever finish? Maybe I need some moral support from fellow builders. This is my first trail and Im doing it all alone with everyday household tools. I'm thinking about buying a Rogue hoe online. Today was really difficult. I was tired, it had rained all last night. There was a lot of mud to deal with. Snow had just m