Need Help with Plan of Action- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Need Help with Plan of Action

Alright, a little information to start with. I'm currently starting to build some trails on my property. I have 15 acres with 12 or so of it wooded.

I have most of my first trail marked off and cutting some trees out of the way. What I'm wondering is if my following plan of attack is correct? I have little trail building experience and most of that was for motorcycles which doesn't translate well I'm finding.

1. Mark trail
    2. Clear large debris (trees, logs, etc)
    3. Blow out trail with leaf blower
    4. Start bench cutting, grading trail for watershed
    5. Add features (berms, rollers, etc)

Thanks for any information you can provide.

I don't want to start and realize that I should have done something completely different.

since 4/10/2009
    More or less. steps 2 and 3 are merged together more or less and I'd split step 1 and shuffle some things. and I tend to use a rake more than a leaf blower. I think even a burly backpack Stihl isn't powerful enough for the stuff that I get with my rake, yet is too piddly to focus specifically on (like major corridor trimming). And when it comes to logs, those tend to be last. After seeing what the trail shapes up to be, I might change my mind on what I want to do with them (whether to incorporate them or not). Same with rocks.

My process would be more like this:

1. Identify/mark major control points (natural features to incorporate or avoid, handheld GPS is handy for marking waypoints during this phase). Sketch possible trail routing onto topo maps/satellite imagery.
    2. Flag rough corridor. Make adjustments to your planned routing based on what you see on the ground.
    3. Clear debris and brush from the rough corridor broadly to open things up and see more detail about the terrain (leaving live trees in place)
    4. Pin flag the actual route of the trail, giving large trees enough space to protect their roots