Going tool shopping... need some pointers- Mtbr.com
    Don't worry, be happy!

Going tool shopping... need some pointers

Whee - time to spend our grant money!!

1. I built books into our budget, of the three books put out by IMBA ( Trail Solutions, Natural Surface Trails by Design, and Lightly on the Land 2nd Edition) which ones are the most useful? I can get all three if I want, and extra copies too.

2. Good resource/best price on McLoeds, clinotometers etc. I've got the Forestry Supply catalog. Does any supplier give preference to trail building organizations?

Thanks!

Formica

mtbr member
    Aug 2004

Depends on where you're building

I have been building trail in Tennessee woods for 2+ yrs. Our technique is to rough cut the route with a weedeater with blade, then rake out with the stiffest leaf rake you can find; then dig the tread with a cutter mattock; then rake out the dirt to final contour with the stiff rake. by alternating between rake and mattock, you can work all day. In my opinion, for maximum output, each person needs both tools. You might get some extra rakes, becasue frequently the ladies don't want to dig, but will rake out the leaves so we can get to digging. I got my favorite hickory handled 5 lb cutter mattock from:

http://forums.mtbr.com/newreply.php?...te=1&p=2271761 I think it was about $27. These might be a little heavy for folks not used to swinging one so might get some lighter ones too, or some pulaskis. I like the wood handles, and have never broken one, but i know not to try to pry out a root.

You might also get a disc sander and some sanding pads to keep tools sharp. I sharpen all our tools about every third or fourth time used. We are cutting roots mainly, but they dull from rock strikes.