Backyard Trail Building: Best mechanized tool for cutting new trail?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2007

Backyard Trail Building: Best mechanized tool for cutting new trail?

We're buying ten acres in a low angle valley backing up to BLM. It's all DG sands and sage brush, some drainage channels, but nothing extreme.

I need a machine that will serve dual purposes for plowing the driveway (less often), cutting trail, and all around utility use on the property.

In theory I could rent a machine for the trail clearing, but I think I'll get more use over time as I do landscaping projects.

Though I'd love to buy a trackhoe, my funds are limited to less than 10k. I am a mechanic and so maintenance will be in house. I'll probably buy used.

I've entertained ideas ranging from a combination loader backhoe, small farm tractor, even a Bobcat. I am comfortable operating loaders and backhoes.

Has anyone had success with a larger ATV or side by side with a blade?

Mostly I'm interested in what has worked for small trail projects where there is less heavy lifting and more dirt pushing and brush pulling.

mtbr member
    Aug 2016
    Pairing a mini-ex and stand-behind power dump barrow with 1,500+ lbs. has been successful for us building here in PA even between tight trees.

Having skilled operators helps too.

mtbr member
    Dec 2007
    Umm, a mini ex and a power dump might be a bit beyond the scope of a privateer... did I mention there were no trees, just DG and sage brush? Maybe the dual purpose driveway plowing gives it away

Anyone have experience using a 4x4 ATV with a drag and/or blade for setting trail in desert environs?

I know I'll be doing a fair amount of handwork, but I need a little muscle to "pave the way".

WillWorkForTrail