Tried everything, bottom bracket cartridge is still seized.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2004

New question here. Tried everything, bottom bracket cartridge is still seized.

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting to this great forum. I have read, and tried all the tricks posted here and all over the internet, to attempt to remove the drive side BB cartridge. My Park remover tool is secure (slipping was an issue initially), I've extended my wrench with 2 pipes to 10 FEET, pried my hardest, and it's still stuck. I've used a can of WD-40 and Liquid Wrench, heated the bottom bracket, and still no go.

I don't have access to a bench with a vice, but I've heard that method may torque the frame too much.

Does anyone have any other great tricks? The frame is aluminum, and the cartridge is Shimano LX. It has become one with the frame.

Thank you all in advance.

tlg
    (enter witty phrase here)
    Quote Originally Posted by mikejavo
    Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting to this great forum. I have read, and tried all the tricks posted here and all over the internet, to attempt to remove the drive side BB cartridge. My Park remover tool is secure (slipping was an issue initially), I've extended my wrench with 2 pipes to 10 FEET, pried my hardest, and it's still stuck. I've used a can of WD-40 and Liquid Wrench, heated the bottom bracket, and still no go.

I don't have access to a bench with a vice, but I've heard that method may torque the frame too much.

Does anyone have any other great tricks? The frame is aluminum, and the cartridge is Shimano LX. It has become one with the frame.

Thank you all in advance.
    Are you turning in the right direction? The drive side needs to turn clockwise to loosen. A 10' bar should be breaking something.

http://www.parktool.com/repair_help/FAQcartdg.shtml

mtbr member
    Aug 2004

Clockwise all the way...

The plastic end came out no problem on the other side. Please, any other thoughts?

mtbr member