mtbr member
    Apr 2017

tracking maintenance and repair

Since there is not really an appropriate sub forum I'm going with tools because a maintenance log is a tool.

I just had to retire a bike before it's time due to negligence on my part. I rode it so infrequently it so far below its grade that I never really thought about it. I just got a new FS trail bike and it's got about an hour and a half on it. It's actually going to be my daughter's bike in a few months when I can affoard to get myself and my other daughter a bike as well.

The bottom line is I'm going to have to maintain and repair 3 FS trail bikes, 2 of which will be raced. My background is aviation maintenance. Specifically navy seahawk helicopters. So I know how to use tools and manuals and I undestand complex mechanics. But I'm very much used to a maintenance tracking system that basically keeps you on track about what needs to be cleaned, inspected, adjusted, repaired or replaced based on usage and calendar time cycles.

Now I know there's not anything around like what I'm used to. But is there a way that works to keep track of hours ridden and maintenance/repairs done? I've tried every variation on searching and can't seem to find it.
    Last edited by SoCalEpicRyder; 05-05-2017 at 07:40 PM.

Magically Delicious
    As soon as I began to read this and saw 'maintenance log', I recognized the association. Are you still in aviation?

Maintenance tracking…keep it simple, but as complete and thorough as you wish. A spreadsheet (Excel) can provide as little, or as much detail tracking capability as you desire. Dates, miles, hours, parts or whatever you want. You know the routine.
    A bad day of cycling is better than a good day at work

Work Truck - Dassault Falcon 7X

mtbr member
    Apr 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by Cleared2land View Post
    As soon as I began to read this and saw 'maintenance log', I recognized the association. Are you still in aviation?