Thinking of building a Titus - Titus X??- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2006

Thinking of building a Titus - Titus X??

Hi folks. I've been thinking about buying a new bike for a couple of months now. I've looked at the usual big name offerings from Specialized, Trek, Giant, etc. However, (and I kmow this may sound stupid coming from a rider who is not ridiculously experienced) but I really don't want to have something that everyone on the moutain has.

Therefore I'm considering taking my time and bulding something myself. I've never built one before but I believe it will be fun, frustrating, and obviously a learning experience.

I'm just getting back into the sport after being out of it for a few years, and I was very surprised to hear that Titus had been sold when I began to look around after coming back.

Anyway, a little more research and I find that On One is in charge of Titus now. I looked at their site and am thinking of buying a frame. Since I'm not overly familiar with Titus bikes, I was wondering if someone can tell me if they think the Titus X in either alloy or in carbon would be a good way to go? I'm not ever going to race..heck, I'm a 5' 10" middle aged Clydesdale...but I do want something that I can feel like I'm fast on. I also want something sturdy.

BTW...I've also pondered the Rockstar frame, but I haven't really liked any 29er I've been on so far. I know folks rave about 29ers, but so far they have all felt less responsive than the 26ers I've ridden. Maybe I just need more seat time on one.......

Well, I realize that I may be late to the Titus party, and that I may also be looking at the Titus name in an effort to satiate an old want (the Motolite was all the rage back when I was riding more a few years ago)....however I really think the frame prices seem to be very good and could make for a fun bike which has a little bit of an "unique" feel to it. I wouldn't see five of them on the trails every time I'm out.