What does calling out "backwards" mean?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

What does calling out "backwards" mean?

I am new to the off-road trails and have been riding Rowlett Creek Preserve up here near Dallas, almost every day for the last week now.

One day while passing riders who had stopped, I turned on a trail and someone shouted, "wrong way!" to me, so I said thanks, then turned and went the other way. I understood that.

Yesterday I go on a loop, and about 1/4 mile in a group of 6-7 riders come around a corner and call out to me, "backward!" I ask, "which way?". They call out again, "backwards!"

So, I turn around and follow them out, which killed my ride on that loop. I get back to the map and I was following the proper direction of the trail.

Now I am confused, were they alerting me that THEY were going backwards, or were they telling me I was going backwards?

Thanks.

meh
    never heard that but either you were going the wrong way or they were riding it backwards i assume, id post this kind of stuff on your dorba account not on mtbr, one of the riders that said that to you is probably on the forum there if it was a group

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by clewttu View Post
    never heard that but either you were going the wrong way or they were riding it backwards i assume, id post this kind of stuff on your dorba account not on mtbr, one of the riders that said that to you is probably on the forum there if it was a group
    Thanks for the reply. DORBA website seems to go down frequently, and this morning I could not access it. I will try again. I thought maybe the saying was a universal thing that I was just not aware of.

mtbr member
    OK, I posted on DORBA and the response I got was that the person calling out "backwards" is riding the trail backwards.

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    In a situation like that I just assume the other guy is high and keep riding
    =====
    bacon (is my dog)
    http://www.sbtec.com

mtbr member