What bike for Austin and the Hill Country- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2009

What bike for Austin and the Hill Country

I've been riding a hardtail 29er for the past 3 1/2 years, mostly on the trails in Steiner and occasionally at Walnut Creek. That said, my goal is to get out and ride more of the trails in and around the hill country. To help achieve this goal, I'm finally stepping up and getting my first full suspension ride. I thought I was going to get a Stumpjumper but found I was most comfortable on the 100mm travel Epic and Tallboy. Having not ridden a full suspension bike around the area, I'm not sure what's enough and what's too much travel. If you only had one bike, would that be recommended travel to handle the majority of riding in and around Austin and the hill country?

brandisher of chainsaws
    I'd personally go with something with around 150mm, big enough to send anything and it'll still climb well enough to ride XC. Don't buy one if you're gonna race XC. If you aren't though, these will make descending a blast without sacrificing too much pedaling efficiency.

Any of these are good buys. Yeti 575, Specialized Stumpy Evo, Trek Remedy/Fuel EX, Pivot 5.7 (what I have), GT Sanction, Transition Bandit/Covert, Santa Cruz Blur LT, Commencal Meta 6, Ibis Mojo, Intense Carbine SL

As far as the Pivot 5.7 is concerned, I can't say enough good things about it. It's flat out the best trail bike I've ever ridden. If you're kinda short, shoot me a PM and I might let you borrow it for a day. I'm out of commission with some pretty serious injuries and won't be riding it any time soon.

mtbr member
    Sep 2009
    Sorry, I guess I should have mentioned that I'm 6' 3" and i'm looking to get another 29er.

mtbr member
    cant say ive spent any appreciable time on a FS 29er, but there arent a ton of long travel 29ers out there. Im sure you could get by on 100mm of travel, but whats the fun in that?

The Ibis Ripley looks pretty awesome. its 120mm.