trails in abilene???- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2007

trails in abilene???

i know there is the bike place that you have to have the membership for...i plan getting the membership. but i would like to know where else is there to ride? not anything crazy...im a newb on a beginner bike.

mtbr member
    Jul 2004

Some go ....

Some go to Lake Abilene out by Abilene State Park. Mostly dirt roads.

Off FM 600 there is a area that is accross from the Lake.

Off of East Lake Road down from Buck Creek there is a place called Frame Bender. Mostly Motorcycles.

Some go to the Skate Rark for a thrill. A reall good workout

Urban is always fun.

TNC
    noMAD man
    The Buck Creek trails that you need the Abilene Bike Club membership for is pretty awesome. Have you ridden it yet? If you're a beginner, I think you'll find a lot to keep you busy for some time. The other major place to ride is referred to as "Bronte". It's a 75 mile dirt motorcycle trail on a ranch that is excellent for MTB also, but it is extremely tough. There are lots of very gnarly, rocky up and downhills. Almost no one rides a hardtail there. You have to be a member there too or at least go with a member. It's a neat place, and I rank it behind Moab, UT as my favorite place to ride a mountainbike. If you master the technical stuff at Buck Creet Trails to a fair degree, then you'd be ready for Bronte.

mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    buck creek...thats it...yea i think i will be getting a membership to go there next week. me and a few buddy's were talking today about going up there next friday(weather permitting).

and as for the bronte trip...i am a ways from that...i dont think my gt palomar can handle too much. its an okay bike that needs a little love.

Apr 2004

Hardtails at Bronte

Don't let TNC scare you off. I and others have ridden out at Bronte on our hardtails a bunch (even with TNC) and we are usually out in front.

He's just a little biased.....