Tips on buying a used Fuel Ex 8- Mtbr.com
    CXK
    mtbr member
    Feb 2016

Tips on buying a used Fuel Ex 8

I've been saving for a 2017 Trek Fuel Ex 8 29er for the last few months and just happened to find a used one in my size for $600 off retail. It says it wasn't not used much and has no scratches. While I want the bike sooner rather than later and would love to avoid the paying tax I'm a little leery of buying used. The bike is about 200 miles from me also so I can't just take a quick look. Its set up tubeless which i have no experience with so far. This would be my first nice bike so I'm not sure if it would be better to just buy new so I can rely on my LBS to help out with any issues I have early on.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    You can often negotiate with a trek manager for a discount of 15-18% for cash. Only a manager can reduce the price if he wants to. It may take you a few shops to find one who will work with you to get a deal done. And you get a warranty you don't get used.

CXK
    mtbr member
    Feb 2016
    Quote Originally Posted by eb1888 View Post
    You can often negotiate with a trek manager for a discount of 15-18% for cash. Only a manager can reduce the price if he wants to. It may take you a few shops to find one who will work with you to get a deal done. And you get a warranty you don't get used.
    So you don't get a warranty when buying used? I thought I'd heard that before but obviously forgot. I'm glad I asked. I guess I'll keep saving and delay gratification haha. I'm also hoping to get a last years model discount by the time I'm ready to buy. I really like the color so I hope I can grab one before they're gone.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by CXK View Post