SS gearing for Anthills?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2009

SS gearing for Anthills?

What gearing do you SS'ers prefer for the Anthills in Houston?

Novice Rider
    May 2012
    On my 18 speed, I normally leave the front sprocket on the middle ratio and the rear on 2 with hills and 5 when it's flat and I need speed. I don't know the ratios off hand, but I can check that out tonight.

If anyone would like to meet up and ride at the anthills, let me know. I'm a novice rider but I'm not terrible and would like to become better. But I'll be honest, this is more of a fun hobby for me so I don't have all of the gear others might have and normally just wear regular clothes.

mtbr member
    Tools | mySinglespeed

SS gear chart

for the Houston area I'll run a 34/17 or 34/18 on my 29er

Need More Bikes
    Quote Originally Posted by HAL 9000 View Post
    Tools | mySinglespeed

SS gear chart

for the Houston area I'll run a 34/17 or 34/18 on my 29er
    woo I just bought a 34 tooth chainring today. My 32 is putting me at the last two cogs on my cassette and I spin out in the low gears.

gran jefe
    Nov 2011
    for anthills i'd be about like 34/22 or 24. i'm probably slow and weak, though. i would very much spin out on the flats, but would be able to ride nearly all the obstacles.

Novice Rider
    May 2012
    I'm not sure how you guys could even attempt SS at the anthills. Between the flat areas and pretty decent hills, I'm constantly shifting between the ranges. Good luck to you though.

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Hey guys I'm new to mountain biking I was wondering what trails are good here in Houston?? Any recommendations??

gran jefe
    Nov 2011
    the ghorba site is a good place to look for the different trails around here.
    anthills in terry hershey park
    jack brooks
    justin brindley in sugar land
    cypresswood
    double lakes
    others over toward austin
    hmm, it looks like ghorba is down. try again in a few days.