SJ Sworks vs Epic Evo R Carbon vs Enduro Carbon, Houston- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2012

SJ Sworks vs Epic Evo R Carbon vs Enduro Carbon, Houston

Hey guys. I've been riding for 10-15 years but recently have got very passionate about some great moderate-advanced trails in the Houston area I found. Jack Brooks Park is amazing.

So I have a entry level Felt HT right now and want to upgrade to a great full suspension bike.
    A couple of bikes I have been eying is an older 2009 Specialized Sworks Stumpjumper FSR 26er for $2100, or a newer 2011 Specialized Epic Expert Carbon Evo R 26er for $2800 ( like new). And a 2010 Enduro Carbon.

Anyone have preferences one over the other? Any other Specialized bike to recommend?

Keep in mind I am an aggressive rider. I love jumps and getting air. I hate getting stuck on an uphill climb, being pretty small in Houston but technical. But every once in a while i go on long straight trails. So im worried about 1x10 gears on the EVO. Is it going to be enough for small advanced uphills and or fast enough for long straightaways. Which bike is better value? Thanks for anyone's input.
    Last edited by Swolern; 01-20-2012 at 06:50 AM.

mtbr member
    buy a 29er

mtbr member
    With moderate fitness, the 1x10 in Houston should be fine. I actually have a 1x9 on two fairly heavy bikes (a 35lb Knolly DT and a 38lb Santa Cruz Driver 8 built for full Downhill..but ridden in Houston to keep the bike in working condition for the summer) and can pretty much clear anything at Memorial or the Anthills. (don't make it down to Jackbrooks very often but there is really nothing I could not clear there either). I'm not the most fit rider but can grind up anything Houston has to offer.