Rockin'- Mtbr.com

Thread: Rockin'

ronbo613

Rockin'

I'm new to Texas so forgive me for asking; are all the trails around here like this or are all the rocks in the state on this particular trail?

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    Most of them are like that in SA and Austin, and west of both. There's a small few that are flatter, but they're lame. I love those kinds of rocky trails.

Why, are you wanting something flat and boring?

Big Boy
    yup...welcome to texas. i started riding in washington state on the olympic peninsula and when i first moved here i didnt really care for it. But, since it is relatively flat you need something to make the rides challenging and the rocks do just that. Now i actually really like texas riding.
    -It's time to shred some mild to moderate gnar!! :cornut:

meh
    texas has an extremely varied geography depending on the part of the state you are in

Big Boy
    Quote Originally Posted by clewttu View Post
    texas has an extremely varied geography depending on the part of the state you are in
    This is very true. towards LA there arent as many rocks. towards New Mexico more open rolling hills. then you have central texas rocks and there is always the hill country.
    -It's time to shred some mild to moderate gnar!! :cornut:

since 4/10/2009
    Quote Originally Posted by texasnavy05 View Post
    This is very true. towards LA there arent as many rocks. towards New Mexico more open rolling hills. then you have central texas rocks and there is always the hill country.
    East Texas = sandbox, but we still have rocks here and there. very rooty, though.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    In El Paso, it is slightly rougher than that. It is all loose rock and smooth trails can be measured in feet and nearly all the trails are on a mountain. Meanest place I have ever ridden for trail rides.

ronbo613