Relocation: Katy or The Woodlands?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2005

Relocation: Katy or The Woodlands?

Hey guys: There is a high chance I am being relocated to Houston. My wife and I have been surfing around the internet at houses and amenities of suburbs around Houston. We both ride mountain and road bikes (and cross bikes), and race quite a bit (she is a Cat 1 and I am a Cat 3). I will be working downtown, and she is a stay to at home mom of our 6 month old.

So If you guys could pick between Katy and the woodlands, which would you chose based on quality of life (community feel of neighborhood and commute) and "out-your-door" road and mountain biking (which I know might be slim).

We probably want to keep it under 300K and 3+ bedrooms, but that is flexible.

Thanks

Fat Biker
    Aug 2006
    I've lived in Houston most of my life and I work as a hot shot courier so I know Houston very well. Here's my 2 cents on both The Woodlands and Katy areas:

Biking:

The Woodlands is a great place to road bike as there are lots of side streets to ride as well as miles of well shaded sidewalks. The sidewalks were designed with walkers, joggers, and bike riders in mind so you don't have to worry about the police telling you to get off the sidewalk. There are quite a few mountain biking trails nearby including Flintridge which is actually located in The Woodlands. It's a short 3.5 mile out and back beginner trail that is tight and twisty. Cypresswood Proper is located about 15-20 minutes away and is longer and more fun. Huntsville State Park is a short 30 minute trip north up I-45 that is more challenging due to long climbs, lots of roots, and even more sand.