Palo Duro Canyon - advice for beginner?- Mtbr.com
    Vicarious Adventurer

Palo Duro Canyon - advice for beginner?

Hey, y'all!

I'm a beginner with less than a year of real riding under my belt starting last fall. My brother and I are considering going on a campus-organized "outdoor adventure" trip to Palo Duro Canyon for a weekend in October ... wondering if anyone had advice for this noob, as well as tips on the area, things to not to miss, places to avoid, best way to approach the trails for beginners, things to watch out for (rattlesnakes, cactus, scorpions, rattlesnakes), great photo ops, etc. ... anything that might help keep me in the saddle.

I've read some reviews and it sounds fairly smooth -- is it more technical than the touristy marketing might suggest? I'll be riding with more experienced MTBers and want to be able to keep up. How would you rate the difficulty of the trails?

Any advice and thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks!

mtbr member
    call the guys at outdoor element sports in amarillo

trip and nugget will set you down the right trail.
    "who's pushing the pedals on the season cycle?" -xtc

Jun 2008
    I am thinking about going on the trip in September that Outdoor Pursuits is putting on through campus. Hopefully it isnt full yet but i was wondering the same thing. I will go ahead and recommend slime tubes.

mtbr member
    this is from a trip i took there last year.

http://flickr.com/photos/onefelipe/s...7601111568893/

you might search for other images or even motionbased.com for ride elevation profiles.
    "who's pushing the pedals on the season cycle?" -xtc

Nov 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by phatphil
    call the guys at outdoor element sports in amarillo

trip and nugget will set you down the right trail.

trip and nugget are definitely good guys ... little known secret, nugget likes to be called tina

mtbr member
    Mar 2007