New to the board (lubbock)- Mtbr.com

Jun 2008

New to the board (lubbock)

I just got signed up on the message boards. I am ready to ride pretty much any afternoon and am trying to get involved in the community.

College Boy
    Are you a student a Texas Tech?

Jun 2008
    yea

thread crapper
    Feb 2008
    Whaddaya ride and do you know the area pretty well?

College Boy
    I would say hook up with the tech cycling club. Great bunch of people who love to ride.

I do miss MLK trails in Lubbock I enjoyed riding before I graduated at Christmas

Jun 2008
    I recently went to Mae Simmons and it was alot of fun, however real sandy in some spots. I just bought a Jamis Durango 2.0 and like it so far. I plan on jumping on one of those Outdoor Pursuits rides that the school puts on at Palo Duro in the fall ive heard it is a good time for a cheap price.

Jun 2008
    I suffered my first flat from a cactus yesterday. Does anyone have any tire suggestions for the rocks, sand, and hardpack?

College Boy
    Something me and many other rides learned about the trails in lubbock. Slime tubes are your friend.

You will run over quite a few thorns on those trails.

Ride, Sleep, Work
    Give Clinton @ Broadway Bikes a call. He can get you setup with the proper tubes and slime you need to survive the Texas panhandle.
    Click to save 15% off your 1st Hammer nutrition order
    http://www.hammernutrition.com/affiliates/50110

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    I'm also at tech. Is there anything around that you can shuttle and downhill? I hate peddling my stinky.

thread crapper
    Feb 2008
    Haha... You haven't noticed the big hills around here?

I've heard rumors of a decent DH up in Palo Duro occasionally, but I don't know that it's something that can be shuttled or not. Some of the guys on the team I ride for live up in that area and they know more about it. I'll post if I ever hear anything on that.