Moving To San Antonio from Philly.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Moving To San Antonio from Philly.

Hi all,

I'm really exited to be coming to the area and start my new job, but I am curious about the Mountain biking seen in San Antonio. i am also interested in the vibe of the city from a mountain bikers point of view.

i guess i will be needing a guide as well.
    http://www.facebook.com/bigkeithxx All it takes is a first step

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    Though I'm basically a rookie at MTB'g (less than 6 mos) I'll take a stab at this.

First off, compared to Philly, you're going to see YEAR ROUND biking.

Lots of good trails, parks.

McAllister Park......HUGE park, tons of trails. Never ridden them.

Government Canyon State Natural Area.....google it, great trails. A favorite.

Leon Creek Greenbelt/OP Schnabel Park, another favorite. The greenbelt is 8-10 miles of what were once seperate small parks separated by unbuildable creek space, all were linked together by parks dep't. Great paved trails, and great dirt trail winding thru mostly dry creeks, cliffs, tree canopy.

I've heard of a great bike park/ranch near Comfort TX that is popular.

And being in SA you are a short drive away from numerous state parks, natural areas, and the Hill Country.

As far as the "vibe", I dunno.......the city used to be behind the times as far as cycling, but have recently come into the 21st century pronoting bike riding with bike lanes, trails like the aforementioned greenbelt. People don't frown on MB'rs.

You're going to find that in general people are a HELLUVVA lot friendlier in SA/TX than in Philly.

Gimmie a holler when you get here, we can go hit a few of my favorite spots, help you get oriented.

cfx
    mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by To be named later

I've heard of a great bike park/ranch near Comfort TX that is popular.
    Flat Rock Ranch perhaps? - Great place to ride!