I'm going crazy! - Open Trails 1-2hr drive from DFW?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

I'm going crazy! - Open Trails 1-2hr drive from DFW?

Anyone have recommendations on where I can drive to find dry OPEN trails 1-2hrs away from DFW? Super wet here in N TX and all DFW trails remain closed. Bought my first bike this Thanksgiving.

I can drive 1-2hrs to get in a 2hr ride during the work week. So I'm willing to drive, but because I'm a noob, don't know where to go to escape the saturated soil. Do I need to drive all the way to Austin? That's a lot further and probably not doable as a day trip. But hey, maybe it's just what I have to do.

Thanks for any suggestions.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by TXPABIKER View Post
    Anyone have recommendations on where I can drive to find dry OPEN trails 1-2hrs away from DFW? Super wet here in N TX and all DFW trails remain closed. Bought my first bike this Thanksgiving.

I can drive 1-2hrs to get in a 2hr ride during the work week. So I'm willing to drive, but because I'm a noob, don't know where to go to escape the saturated soil. Do I need to drive all the way to Austin? That's a lot further and probably not doable as a day trip. But hey, maybe it's just what I have to do.

Thanks for any suggestions.
    Keep an eye on Glen Rose Dinosaur Valley, it dries out pretty fast and might open before some of our northern trails.

I feel you, haven't managed a trail ride since summer on my local trails. The few times they have been open I have been busy or out of town.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Sep 2018
    Give Mineral Wells state park a call. Not the best trails but they are trails. Even the trails in Waco are pretty muddy.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
    Will swerve for leaves.

mtbr member
    No kidding... riding in North Texas has been crap this last 6+ months.