If I were to move to Austin....- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

If I were to move to Austin....

and I wanted to be in a nice middle class neighborhood near some of the best trails, what area should I look in? I would be moving from the east coast, so I have no knowledge of any areas in or around Austin. Thanks for any info.

mtbr member
    I'm in San Antonio, so I couldn't really tell ya' anything about the neighborhoods, but others I am sure will chime in and then you can get an idea of what trails are near and just how near using this.

Where on the east coast are you?
    Pedigre

Builder of Trails
    Feb 2004
    I'll let the people who live in south Austin, i.e. south of the Colorado River, chime in for that part of town. Middle class neighborhoods in Austin within a reasonable riding distance to trails are: Crestview, Allandale, Clarksville, & Great Hills come to mind. Steiner Ranch has it's own decent trail system for home owners and their guests.

There are others, but I'll let someone else post their ideas.

D

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by dburatti
    Steiner Ranch has it's own decent trail system for home owners and their guests.
    Yeah, I tried to get them to let me come check it out...request denied.
    Pedigre

mtbr member
    Apr 2005
    PM me with some of the details of your price range, where you hope to work and other details.

There are some good real estate people that are also riders that I can hook you up with.

You can find all of the info on the trails on my site.

In live in central austin, in rosedale. I can ride down to town lake from my neighborhood via the shoal creek greenbelt. The barton creek greenbelt, city park and walnut creek are all 10-15 minutes from my front door. However, my neighborhood is scarce on property so the costs are pretty high (I got in 12 years ago).
    Austin Mountain Biking and worldwide travel pictures:

http://www.austinbike.com

Got Mojo?
    Quote Originally Posted by Francine