hardtail for Austin terrain?- Mtbr.com
    xab
    mtbr member
    Feb 2019

hardtail for Austin terrain?

"Everyone" says you need full suspension for Austin's rocky and technical terrain. However, I am a beginner with a hardtail budget! 1200 is the absolute maximum

For additional background, I have a ton of commuting and road touring riding under my belt, and am on the smaller/lighter end - 5'6"/135# Pretty decent mechanic but not experienced with mountain bike tech.

Would plus size tires be helpful? I've heard they're slower and the feel depends on getting the air pressure exactly right

Would a longer travel fork be helpful? Looking at the Diamondback Sync'r with 140mm travel

Is BB drop a concern for hardtails on rocky terrain or is that only a full suspension issue?

(thanks in advance)

mtbr member
    Iíve ridden many Austin area trails on a hardtail, both an older 100mm travel 26er and a new 130mm travel 27.5 trail hardtail. I donít have an issue but itís really the rider, not the bike, as they say. But yeah, generally speaking you can go faster on a full suspension but itís all doable on a hardtail.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Another thing to think about is that on a hardtail you will be fatigued faster because your legs are doing more work to act as suspension and your body is absorbing more impacts. Plus sized tires could help a bit l, but there are drawbacks, like weight and especially tire durability in rocky terrain.

mtbr member
    I actually prefer my hardtail for rockier terrain like government canyon, pedernales, banders etc and ride a giant fathom 27.5 so you should be fine on a hardtail. If I had to do it over again I would do a chromag and build it up but that is for later this year

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk

xab
    mtbr member
    Feb 2019
    The chromags look like they all have massive travel in the front, 160mm. Do you think 120mm is pretty good? Would 140mm be noticeably better?