Entry-level AllMountain bike for Austin trails/parks- Mtbr.com

Mar 2009

Entry-level AllMountain bike for Austin trails/parks

I've been shopping around in a couple of bikes stores here in Austin and have come up with the following list (in order of preference) of bikes based on shops feedback:

Scott Aspect 45 ($750)
    Gary Fisher Wahoo ($549)
    Scott Aspect 50 ($530)
    Giant Yukon
    Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc ($589)

Although I'm trying to stay within a $500 budget (I'm a newbie), based on the reviews I found in bikeradar.com I'm leaning towards the Aspect 45. I haven't shop around in the web for better pricing as I'm still trying to decide on which model to pick.

I'm looking for recommendations (either one pick of the above or a different setup/brand if there are better ones) for a beginner moutainbiker in Austin. Based on the trails available in the Austin area, am I in the right direction? Or there are better bikes in the $500-700 range?

mtbr member
    You might also consider Fezzari's Kings Peak. If you do, tell Chris that MountainBikeTx.com sent ya'.

Keep in mind, most, if not all of those on your list are actually trail bikes, not AM
    Pedigre

Mar 2009
    Maybe my thread title is misleading. I was looking at all the different subforums and didn't saw one specificly related to trail biking. I don't think I'll find an All-Mountain within my budget,maybe that's why all the bikes that were suggested to me at the bike shops are hardtails. Are there any real mountainbiking spots in Austin? So far the only trails I know are the one in town lake, green belt, and walnut creek. If I take this serious I'm pretty sure I'll end of buying a 2nd bike down the road. Right now I'm looking for something that would let me hold my own in most Austin parks.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by galactor