commuting in San Marcos- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2006

commuting in San Marcos

Ok, I am still relatively new to biking in general (about 7 months) so it might just be me, but aren't the drivers just HORRID in San Marcos? I have already had two screaching tires incident while trying to cross over sessom while on aquarena. I love riding my bike and I enjoy commuting to school, but I am starting to rethink my options. This is only my first semester here and I have only ridden my bike a hand full of times, but it's just beginning to worry me...I can't afford to get hit by a car. Any tips for the veteran commuters or MTBers in the SM area? Also, where are the trails...in SA I was soo spoiled, I had OP scnaebel about 5 minutes (bike ride) away.

mtbr member

SM drivers...

Quote Originally Posted by DP1112
    Ok, I am still relatively new to biking in general (about 7 months) so it might just be me, but aren't the drivers just HORRID in San Marcos? I have already had two screaching tires incident while trying to cross over sessom while on aquarena. I love riding my bike and I enjoy commuting to school, but I am starting to rethink my options. This is only my first semester here and I have only ridden my bike a hand full of times, but it's just beginning to worry me...I can't afford to get hit by a car. Any tips for the veteran commuters or MTBers in the SM area? Also, where are the trails...in SA I was soo spoiled, I had OP scnaebel about 5 minutes (bike ride) away.
    Yeah drivers there blow. Some kid lost his leg not too long ago due to a truck hitting him while he was riding. I've heard nightmare stories.

Closest thing I know of is the Madrone Trail @ Canyon Lake, doubt you'll be able to ride there unless you're a beast. The good news is that you have Austin not too far away, and you already know SA, split the difference and you're in SM. Good location

Got Mojo?
    Quote Originally Posted by DP1112
    Also, where are the trails...