Austin-vs-San Antonio riding??- Mtbr.com

Dec 2004

Austin-vs-San Antonio riding??

I may have a good chance to move to TX in the next few months. I've just got back from Austin, family holidays. I have a brother that just moved to Austin and I loved the area and temps, friendly people, lots of places to eat, and HEB. Every day I saw a mountain biker or roadie out on the road.
    I would be able to transfer from my job to San Antonio (don't want to lose my benefits and vaca time). But if I have to I think I would be able to find something in Austin, as I'm a pharmacy tech with years of experience in long term care.
    So my question. How does Austin and San Antonio differ/same riding wise (I'm both roadie and mountain bike) And any other insight you might offer about the two cities. I thank you all for any and all info!!

Livin' the Dream
    I went to school at UT Austin and I lived in SA for a summer. I think the road riding is going to be good in either city. Most of the area between Austin and SA and west is hilly and is great for road riding. Bad news is, all those awesome hills are privately owned. As for trails, I would have to lean towards the Austin area. I have to admit I didn't really ride any trails in the SA area, but the Austin trails were awesome, and several choices too.
    DO RIGHT AND FEAR NO MAN

mtbr member
    Apr 2005
    Austin has more trails and more choices, much closer into the city. SA has great trails, but not as many and more difficult to get to, but that is because it is a much larger metro area.

My site has links to both austin and san antonio trails. http://www.austinbike.com

mtbr member
    Dec 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by austin_bike
    Austin has more trails and more choices, much closer into the city. SA has great trails, but not as many and more difficult to get to, but that is because it is a much larger metro area.

My site has links to both austin and san antonio trails. http://www.austinbike.com