Any qualified bike mechanics in S. Austin interested in side work putting together...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2013

Any qualified bike mechanics in S. Austin interested in side work putting together...

I thought I was a mechanic. I have no issues rebuilding engines and what not, but I'm just lost when it comes to putting together my new Yeti frame up and I'm concerned I'm going to hurt it.

I can do all the larger stuff like cranks/ wheels/ forks but it's mainly running the cables I'm stuck on, as well as dialing in the rear derailer.My frame is new but my parts are used.

Anyone local I could pay about $80 that knows what they are doing? I'd expect about 2 hours of your time to make certain it is completed correctly although it would likely take less time.

PM me if interested.

Thanks

mtbr member
    Oct 2007
    I would highly recommend that you just take your time and learn to do it yourself. It is a bad idea to depend on others to fix your bike, no one is going care for your bike the way you will. I have a friend that has a lbs mechanic do all the work on his bike. What it usually results in is me fixing all the shoddy work at the trailhead before a ride. There are times when you will need to do some of this stuff out on the trail, and mechanics aren't going to come out to you. Get a book on bike repair, or spend some time on the park tool website. If you can rebuld an engine than this stuff is kid stuff.

Repair Help Articles | Park Tool

https://www.amazon.com/Zinn-Art-Moun...ke+maintenance
    2015 Niner Jet 9 Carbon
    2014 Focus Raven 27R
    2017 Lynskey GR250
    2016 Niner BSB
    1987 Haro RS1

mtbr member
    Nov 2016
    Nothing wrong with getting an assist from an experienced wrench the first go around. Better to spend for the education than replace parts you messed up.

Sorry I can't point you to someone to help you out.

mtbr member