mtbr member
    Apr 2014

Tandem fork rake and steering geometry

Learning the intricacies of bicycle geometry can be a lifetime endeavor. I've read a little on the 'net about tandem geometry, and I have some experience, owning several tandems myself.

My first is an '88 Fisher Team tandem built by Santana, and the head angle is 72.5 with 2" of rake. This gives less trail than a standard bike would have, and for me, easy steering and technical agility. That's my starting point.

My second tandem, a '96 700C Cannondale, has a 73.5 head angle and 2.1" of rake. Same thing: more rake, less trail, neutral steering.

I recently bought this tandem, a rarer than rare '98 Manitou. There's more about it in the Vintage Tandem thread in the VRC forum.

Tandem fork rake and steering geometry-20140614_193205_zpsc12174b1.jpg

This bike has a 72 head angle and a Manitou X-Vert fork. I looked up the X-Vert rake, and it's only 1 5/8" (unless this one is special - I don't think so). And this bike handles like it. Steering is heavy, climbing is difficult (wobbly) with any stoker movement, and despite it being a cool bike (and great descender), I'm not happy. At first I thought the weird feeling was just because it's tall, but I suspect the small fork rake.

Someone might say, "Get a new fork". Yeah...it's difficult. VRC is my thing, and... the fork is custom painted to match the frame. The fork action is awesome - Barcalounger for sure. A nice new fork might cost nearly what the bike did, so I hesitate to throw too much money into an older rig, as cool as it may be.

Does anyone here have any opinions about geometry, like "Less rake is OK, must be something else", or maybe I can lower the fork crowns a little, or can one find new triple clamps for such a thing that would allow more rake? The headset is 1 1/4", so there's almost room for some adjustable head angle headset, though I think most of those are 1.5".

I'd enjoy hearing what the experts think.

PMK
    mtbr member