mtbr member
    Mar 2013

Salsa Powderkeg or Cannondale Tandem 29er

Trying to decide between a 2016 Powderkeg and a 2018 Cannondale Tandem 29er. I'm getting a deal on either one where the Dale is about $300 less. I test road the Powderkeg and I really liked the agility of the Salsa compared with my current Trek T900. The rear felt more "connected" unlike my T900 which feels like it's hard to turn. Maybe it's the 24 versus 29 inch wheels? I won't have a chance to test the Dale. I'm drawn to the Dale due to it's better wheels, brakes, and standover height. However, I'm concerned if the aluminum isn't as comfy as the Powderkeg's steel frame? Also the Powderkeg has thru axles, but I'm not convinced it's going to affect the ride. I would like to take it on my local XC ride with some downhill and I'm not sold on the wheels and brakes on the Salsa.

mtbr member
    Jan 2017
    I have no experience with Cannondale tandems but I have a Powderkeg. I also considered both when I was shopping and the Cannondales do have a better component selection. I picked the Powderkeg for a variety of reasons. One thing that I learned after riding was how crucial ground clearance is when riding off road. The Salsa has an additional inch over the Cannondale which is huge. Your intended use is really important. I planned to use our bike as a gravel road runner but ended up using it on single track (where I think even that extra inch is still not really enough ground clearance). I found the brakes to be adequate if not fancy but the rear wheel was problematic as we broke 2 free hub bodies before upgrading...