mtbr member
    Mar 2008

Surly Wednesday Custom Build

This is my Surly Wednesday custom build. I am totally new to fat bikes and know little about fat bike components and standards. Having been sort of curious about how fat bikes ride for a long time now, I could not resist when I ran into an affordable offer on a Surly Wednesday frame set. After that I have been trying to understand fat bikes and learn about fat bike specific components. It has surprised me how expensive components are. Nevertheless, I have learned a few things and thought I’d share them here in one place in case someone else is in a similar situation. Also there is not so much easily available information on Wednesday specific questions such as tire and drive train clearance.

It has taken some time to understand different bottom bracket and hub widths as well as what to look out for in a fat bike frame. I knew I wanted a steel frame and a threaded bottom bracket. This narrowed down the alternatives nicely and as the Wednesday frame set was only 490 euros shipped, I grabbed it. I got my frameset from a UK bike shop called Triton Cycles.

After my purchase I learned that not all fat bikes are equal. Tire and drive train clearance are possibly the most important things to consider when choosing your frame. The Wednesday frame is limited to 4.6” wide tires as per manufacturer information. The fork has room for 5”+ tires. Had I understood this when I was looking for a frame I would probably have bought the Ice Cream Truck instead, despite the press fit bottom bracket. I guess there are also benefits to a narrower frame, though. It may be easier and more pleasant on your legs, a narrower frame may be better in technical terrain as the frame is less exposed to rocks and other obstacles, also a narrower frame may be nicer if you plan to alternate between fat bike tires and 27.5+/29+ tires.